Fulbright Austria > Going to Austria > Scholars > Programm > Open to all disciplines


Fulbright Lecturing/Research Awards (open to all disciplines)

DEADLINE This award will not be available in 2020-21
COMMENTS Apply through CIES

Location: Applicants must arrange affiliation and include letter of invitation.

Benefits: This award includes a travel grant of Euro 800, medical and accident insurance, and a monthly stipend of Euro 4,000 per month for four months.

Language: Lecturing is in English. Some knowledge of German is advantageous but not required.

Eligibility : All applicants must have US Citizenship.
(US Green Card, Permanent Residency or Residency Permit is not sufficient)

Qualifications: Open to faculty of all academic ranks with a Ph.D., appropriate teaching and research experience, and relevant expertise. Scholars with several years of teaching and research experience are preferred.

Grant Activity:Flexible combinations of lecturing and research entail as a rule a teaching load of two courses per week (individual class meetings of 90 minutes each) for advanced undergraduate or graduate students in area of interest. The Austrian Fulbright Commission is particularly interested in proposals based on comparative approaches and issues, especially but not exclusively in disciplines not covered by existing awards or institutional partnerships. Lecturing must be an integral part of all proposals. Details of teaching load are to be articulated by lecturer and host institution. Opportunities for research are contingent upon grantee's interests, areas of specialization and proposed relationship to host institution. Involvement in tutorials, student advising and other duties are negotiable and depend upon the expectations of the host institution and the manner in which the working relationship develops. The Austrian Fulbright Commission considers the quality of the project proposal and the institutional collaboration proposed therein as important selection criteria.

Comments: Letter of invitation from the proposed host institution is required and should be submitted together with application. Applicants are encouraged to see if their proposals are appropriate for consideration under the auspices of awards based on institutional partnerships. This “all disciplines” award ideally targets proposals not covered by existing partnerships.

Recipients of this award

  • Paul Hawkshaw, Yale University, 2017-2018
  • Justin McBrayer, Fort Lewis College, 2016-2017
  • Stephen Dowden, Brandeis University, 2015-2016
  • David Fastovsky, University of Rhode Island, 2014-2015
  • Mona Scheuermann, Oakton Community College, 2013-2014
  • Igor Sevostianov, New Mexico State University, 2012-2013
  • Bryant McAllister, University of Iowa, 2011-2012
  • James Sellers, Pennsylvania State University, 2011-2012
  • Peter Rutledge, University of Georgia, 2010-2011
  • Richard Wener, New York University, 2009-2010
  • Timothy Krantz, University of Redlands, 2009-2010
  • Nicole Rafter, Northeastern University, 2009-2010
  • Tricia Johnson, Rush University, 2008-2009
  • Phillip DeLeon, New Mexico State University, 2008-2009
  • Martin Farris, University of Northern Texas, 2007-2008
  • Ashley Steel, Northwest Fisheries Science Center, 2007-2008
  • Shaun Murphree, Allegheny College, 2006-2007
  • Mary Ann Danowitz, University of Denver, 2006-2007
  • Kevin O`Hara, University of California - Berkeley, 2005-2006
  • Diane O`Donoghue, Tufts University, 2005-2006
  • Cheryl Logan, University of North Carolina - Greensboro, 2004-2005
  • Todd Mooradian, College of William and Mary, 2004-2005
  • Robert Pahre, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign, 2004-2005
  • Virginia Babcock, University of Idaho, 2003-2004
  • Randy Dumm, Florida State University, 2003-2004
  • Juliet Floyd, Boston University, 2003-2004
  • Daniel Rieppel, Southwest State University - Marshall, 2003-2004
  • William Ferguson, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, 2002-2003
  • Matthew Berg, John Carroll University, 2002-2003
  • Patricia Hall, University of California - Santa Barbara, 2002-2003
  • Edward Leonard, Columbia University, 2002-2003
  • James Miller, University of Arkansas - Little Rock, 2001-2002
  • Diana Reynolds, Point Loma Nazarene University, 2001-2002
  • Steven Shull, University of New Orleans, 2001-2002
  • Stanley Thompson, Ohio State University, 2001-2002
  • Julie Johnson, University of Utah, 2000-2001
  • Kirsten Krick-Aigner, Wofford College, 2000-2001
  • Jaqueline Gargus, Ohio State University, 2000-2001
  • Guy Rogers, Wellesley College, 2000-2001
  • Margaret Notley, University of North Texas, 2000-2001